Hey, What’s Up With the Blue-Collar Dude?

As a caveat before I start this post, I want to say I want all women to have the best of the best in a mate. But what is best for me may not be best for everyone else, so when I write about things I write to let people know you have to do what is right for your life. That’s what matters. Now with that being said, I am a woman that’s NOT into the blue-collar dude. I like my men with degrees from a college that is accredited and the kind that gives out BA’s or BS’s not AA’s. Okay call me a snob but I’m sorry, I have BA, a certification from the University of Washington as a paralegal and an MBA. I would expect any man that I got involved with while I was single to have at least the minimum, be educated and have graduated from a 4 year college. That’s just how I roll.

But now I’m going to talk to women who may be a little more open than myself. The blue-collar man has been looked down upon by some and I’m not sure why. He may not be able to talk about wine with the wine snobs but you may be a woman that doesn’t like wine, I certainly am one although I do enjoy some good champagne. A professional blue-collar guy may not be a bad deal for many woman. Many blue-collar men I know have well-paying jobs, some have businesses and they are hard working men. No he may not be as cultured as other men, you may not have a jet-set life style but let me be truthful most women married to men with degrees have none of that either. When I say blue-collar I mean professional, not the guy changing tires at the local gas station. If your man is a mechanic for Mercedes, guess what you’ll probably own a Mercedes. When my best friend’s Mercedes broke down one day the guy who came out to fix it was in a Mercedes that he owned, he told her ‘we work for the company so we own the our product so we can show people we stand behind it’. That ain’t bad for a mechanic and he probably made a very good living. My little brother drives the bus for King County, he makes a good living (real good), when he and I both worked for King County (I worked in the Legal Dept. of the Sheriff’s Office) he made more money than I did, a lot more and I have the two degrees. But he’s part of a union. You can marry a plumber, hey it’s not a glamorous job but do you know how much plumbers make an hour, hire one and find out. That’s why I say they may not be a bad option. He may own a small business, that could be passed down to your children.

I’m not down on blue-collar dudes, Matt was a blue-collar dude before he graduated college and little after. He did concrete work from the age of 16 till a little after college and he also knows carpentry. Now my husband is an engineer but it sure is nice to know that when we own a home, he can pour a patio, make me those concrete counter-tops I’ve always wanted or build me an addition on our home. He actually helped his parents build their log cabin home. I don’t know what you’re looking for but you need to know. Not every woman wants wining and dining and jaunts to Europe every year. Some women are content to stay close to home and take a trip out to a lake cabin or go camping. Now I’m not trying to put anyone in a box I’m not saying the average plumber dude is not a renaissance man, he may well be and I’m not implying that all guys with college degrees are stuck-up. What I am saying is that there are many men out there that are good men, not all of them have been to Harvard. I don’t think it’s lowering your standards if you marry a man with a good paying job/business that can take care you, provide you with a home, nice car, you probably won’t have to work or just work for his company, nice vacations, and security minus a degree along with loving you and your family to death. We all could do so bad.

13 thoughts on “Hey, What’s Up With the Blue-Collar Dude?

  1. Yeahhh… I pretty much think that any guy I will be involved with will at least have a college education. The thought that I could date one who doesn’t never really occurred to me. I haven’t dated any yet.

    It’s not that I look down on blue-collar men but where I’m from going to college is just a given. You graduate from high school, you go to college. An advanced degree is sometimes a maybe, but college is not.

    • I’m not really asking ppl for whom college is a deal-breaker for it not to be a deal-breaker. What I was hoping to let some women know especially some bw that if they like the blue collar guy (the high skilled worker) she shouldn’t be ashamed of her choice. Also, once again, not bw are the same, not all of us are college graduates although many of us are. For those women who are looking for a good guy, nice guy, with a pretty good life this is an option. I said above, a non-college graduate was not for me. That does not mean he’s not anybody. No bw should feel ashamed b/c she happens to marry or be in love with a guy who’s not a college graduate. I keep get the feeling from many blogs I see that talk about BWIR that if you say you love or like or consider a non-college graduate an option, you’re on as dumb, unsophisticated, or lowly. I keep getting this feeling all out snobbery among bw when it comes to IR dating, I feel when bw pick men that other bw don’t think are ‘model’ material or the hot guy from GQ. In the real world, only a small percentage of ppl of any ilk are incredibly good looking. Most of us differing degrees of avg as are our mates. I’m not telling anyone not to find what they feel is ‘best’ for them and their situation but I’m also not putting my situation out as the best fit for all bw willing to date IR. That’s really all I’m saying.

  2. Being from the Rust Belt, the blue-collar guy is very romanticized in my neck of the woods. Pretty much because the era of the man who worked in a car factory/meat-packing plant/steel mill/coal mine for 40 years, buys a respectable house, has a decent car, puts his kids through college is not that far in the past.

    However, those jobs are few and far between, and many of the guys in my area who define themselves as “blue-collar” are mostly unskilled laborers who are VERY vulnerable to recessions, layoffs, etc. So I personally was always wary of these guys — not because they were bad guys, but because I knew they were at a long-term disadvantage because they typically didn’t have some type of post-high school education. Not necessarily a 4-year degree, but even some type of trade school training.

    However, the “blue-collar” guy who used his skills to start and run a small business, become a franchisee of a company or something like that would be a type of guy I would consider for a relationship (if I was still dating) because that type of work shows initiative, resourcefulness, drive, gumption and all that good stuff.

    • Oh please don’t misunderstand me, Bunny I am telling women to give the dude working at McDonald’s a chance and that’s what I equate an unskilled laborer with. I also understand that wholesale manufacturing jobs will not be returning to the U.S. not like the days of old. If you want to do manufacturing in this country, you’re actually going to have to be skilled and probably educated at some school or training facility. You just can’t be a dumb ass out of high school anymore. When I speak of the ‘blue collar’ dude I mean the dude who is a highly skilled laborer, that’s how you make money. You have a skill that others don’t possess so ppl pay well for it. Someone who is trained or certified to do something. Especially someone who owns and runs his own business, that’s never a bad thing.

      • Oh no, I understood ya! 🙂 I’m just venting more about the lack of nuance that usually takes place in these conversations about blue-collar guys… all of them are lumped in the same box and people don’t even know how to go about looking for a highly skilled laborer/business owner type!

        I went out with three guys like this, and one was a millionaire. All were very smart, and very good at a specific skill. They ran with that and created nice lives for themselves. I wouldn’t have hesitated to pursue relationships with them (but they weren’t interested in me… oh well!).

        • Good I thought I we had a misunderstanding there. I’ve met some ‘blue collar’ guys that I was extremely impressed by, knowledgeable, smart guys, successful and I think it’s unfortunate that those guys get lumped in the dude pumping gas or changing tires at the local Jiffy Lube. They are not the same.

  3. I think it’s quite alright to explore the blue collar man. I remember a friend of mine whose father owned a paving company, they lived in an amazing house, just stunning. The mother never worked, and they were able to send the kids to university debt free. My cousin’s father is a master electrician and he put him through Med school. I think a blue collar factory labourer is way different from someone who actually is a skilled person like a plumber, mason, or electrician. One thing too is that because these men go right out of high school into their apprenticeships they usually have no debt, and are home owners sooner in life. Yep, I should get an electrician to put a lil spark in my life.

    • Jules that’s what I’m talking about, a Master electrician can make some money. My sis in law has a gf that’s a master electrician and she and her husband live in one of the most expensive neighborhoods in Seattle, Mt. Baker, that kind of skill can pay well and yes they are different from the factory worker whose numbers are dwindling everyday anyway. Matt, my husband is a manufacturing engineer, he works for a company that makes parts for Boeing, Boeing still makes many of it’s parts here in the U.S. especially for military contracts. Now although Matt is a manufacturing engineer he is highly sought after because not many colleges have degree tracks for manufacturing engineers. So his skills are prized and he never wants for a job, but he’s currently a quality engineer in manufacturing so he’s needed. If you gain a skill that’s needed, you can keep a job and as an engineer or even a master electrician you won’t ever have to search for work b/c work will be searching for you.

  4. One thing I’ve noticed is how many white guys claim that degrees don’t matter as much if you’re self taught, have a great career, etc. Yet they’ll make a fuss when it comes to actually having a relationship with someone who has more degrees that they do.

    • LOL, well as I said he’s not for everybody. They weren’t really guys I was interested in but I know for some woman this kind of guy may be a good option especially if he’s successful at his blue collar job. I don’t want women to feel ashamed b/c maybe they chose a blue collar guy, sometimes I think in the BWIR community folks can try to shame bw that aren’t with rocket scientist. Rocket scientist isn’t for everybody and everybody doesn’t want to travel to world, I do but not everything I do is for everyone. Meh, just another option.

Leave a Reply

