Oh I Have Been Sick

Good gracious, it sucks being a diabetic especially when I get sick. Over the weekend I ended up in the emergency room at Swedish Hospital, thank God I have a husband who has medical insurance.  But I ended up there after a night of vomitting, diarrhea, and stomach cramps the likes some folks would have passed out on. I almost did after about fours in the middle of the night, I was spent so I woke up Matt and it was off the hospital. Don’t ask me why I always wait so long before I decide to just take it to the emergency room but finally I did. I had nothing left, I’d pretty much threw up everything I ate and the diarrhea has wiped anything else clear. One of the worst ways to be sick is to be vomitting and have diarrhea at the same time because it’s coming out both ends. That effing sucks. Once I got Matt settled because he was a little frazzled, he couldn’t remember how to get to Swedish (it’s like four blocks up the road from us) it was funny. I’m bent over in excruciating pain and trying to tell him to go straight, turn right. Sometimes he’s very calm and level-headed, sometimes not so much. We get checked in and they take me back. Ask me all my vital signs and I tell them what’s been going on. I get a blood sugar done, it was high never good when I’m sick, they put in an IV because by now I’m totally dehydrated and take blood and other things and start testing to see what I have. They put some nausea and pains meds in that IV, sweet relief!! That stomach pain felt like that thing from Alien was trying to escape my stomach. I hate reminiscing about it. After a about a million folks walked in and out of that little room, poking and prodding me they finally came to conclusion that I had a urinary tract infection. If you’ve ever had any kind of bacterial infection in your GI (gastro-intestinal) tract you know how painful it is, painful enough that you’d almost pass out and I almost did. So it was nice to be in the ER and the doctor knew what I had, many times they just come in and look puzzled. I’ve diagnosed myself so many times, I keep thinking all I need is a prescription pad and I’d be all good. So after they came to a conclusion, pumped with some antibiotics and got me some prescriptions I was on my way home.

Since I’d missed most of my sleep, I was totally sleepy and also they’d given me some Vicodin so after I took it I was totally out. Matt, my sweet darling husband, who I love more than anything, just took care of me. I couldn’t eat but he made me jello and got me cranberry juice, picked up my meds at Walgreens. When I’m really sick like this, not a cold or little virus but really sick where I can’t really eat or take care of myself. It’s vital to have someone to watch me for a day or two. Diabetics with bacterial infections or any bad sickness can easily slip into comas if we don’t monitor our blood sugar and get nutrients. I couldn’t eat but I could sip on cranberry juice and ginger ale mixed with water. I don’t want too much sugar because when I’m sick my blood sugar just goes through the roof on it’s on. I’ve slipped into comas before from being this ill, but he talked to my mom and she told him everything to do. So every few hours he came in and woke me up to take meds, test blood sugar, get my insulin. I was groggy for a full day on that Vicodin, personally I hate Vicodin because it makes you feel so loopy but it did stop that pain in my tummy region and at that moment that’s all that mattered. Matt took Monday off to take care of me, it’s just nice to have someone who cares enough to take a day off. I don’t know how many husbands would do that for their wives especially when they’re sick. Some men get all weird and just want to leave. I’m glad that Matt can man-up and handle being a nursemaid for me for a little bit and it’s not killing his ego. As a type 1 diabetic it’s always been a fear of mine that someone I marry wouldn’t be able to handle my illness and the complications it brings and just one day up and skedaddle out of Dodge. I’ve seen it happen to many a woman but he took it all in stride and with my mom’s phone counseling he was able to take really good care of me. Now I’m feeling better and about to get back to work. I thank God I have a job that is flexible and I could take the time I needed to get better without any drama on the job’s part. So for you who wanted a mental image of what I felt like over the weekend, here it is.

 I didn’t want to gross you out too much so I did the Lego version but you get the picture. It was not pretty and neither was I. Thanks for everyone for the well wishes while I was sick, I appreciate you guys care and concern.

 

9 thoughts on “Oh I Have Been Sick

  1. Glad you’re feeling better…And super happy Hubby was so wonderful; we should all be so lucky to find a man like him 🙂

  2. Wow. 😦

    I remember you popping in on a post at BBW and mentioning you’d been ill, but I had no idea it was THIS bad. Goodness!

    I’m so happy you’re feeling better. ❤

    • Yikes, it’s the sickest I’ve been in awhile. It doesn’t happen that often but when it does it can be scary for my loved ones. My mom kept threatening to come out and take care of me but he did a good job. LOL.

  3. I am so happy that Matt was there..I know how diabetes can affect the body but It didn’t cross my mind that things could spiral so horribly downward for you.
    The pain, double end illness…just too much.

    Now I am crying…..lawdddddddd sighs
    anyway glad that you feeling getting better,keep resting

    love ya

  4. I’m sorry to hear that you were sick. I’m glad you are doing well and that you have a good man by your side to help and support you. I’ve been feeling a little sick myself. I know you had a UTI but everyone gets something right before winter hits. I can’t explain it but it sucks. Hope you continue to get well and sleep it off this weekend.

Leave a Reply

