Star’s Favorite…Movies-Casablanca

I am and will always be a fan of classic movies particularly those made in the 40s and 50s but I like something about them all. This is one of my all time favorites movies classic or otherwise. If you’ve never seen Casablanca first of all what planet are you living on but really what planet are you living on? It is absolutely brillant and stars some of my favorite classic actors, I’m a huge fan of Humphrey Bogart, Bogie is good in just about anything and really this was a great movie for him. Of course the gorgeous and timeless Ingrid Bergman, really this is a role she was made to play. Both of actors do awesome jobs in it but you want to know who I really think made this movie one of my favorites, Claude Rains, I’d seen Rains in other movies like Invisible Man but this whole movie was his, he had the best lines and was just made watching this film a wonder to behold. This movie wouldn’t have made it to classic status without Claude Rains. I mean if you want to see a film that belongs to Humphrey Bogart watch The Maltese Falcon or The Big Sleep, because in Casablanca he’s just a side character and everyone is playing off of Claude Rains character, Captain Renault, at some point in this movie. This movie has it all intrigue, comedy, and a love story. Surprisingly it didn’t do that well at the box office in its day but many times the great classics never do. You won’t be disappointed if you watch it, you may surprised at how much you love it. I must say if you’re a classic movie fan and haven’t seen it yet, shame on you, take a ruler and spank your hand then go out and rent it and watch it. It’s a must watch for all classic movies folk. I’ll leave you some of favorite lines from the movies, I’m such a sucker for a  good movie line and will put it in my own speech if it’s really good. This movie has a bunch of lines I use in my everyday life.

Captain Renault: In 1935, you ran guns to Ethiopia. In 1936, you fought in Spain, on the Loyalist side.
Rick: I got well paid for it on both occasions.
Captain Renault: The *winning* side would have paid you *much better*

[about Rick]
Major Strasser: You give him credit for too much cleverness. My impression was that he’s just another blundering American.
Captain Renault: We musn’t underestimate “American blundering”. I was with them when they “blundered” into Berlin in 1918.

[Rick and Renault discussing Victor Laszlo’s chances of escaping Casablanca]
Captain Renault: This is the end of the chase.
Rick: Twenty thousand francs says it isn’t.
Captain Renault: Is that a serious offer?
Rick: I just paid out twenty. I’d like to get it back.
Captain Renault: Make it ten. I’m only a poor corrupt official.

8 thoughts on “Star’s Favorite…Movies-Casablanca

  1. While Casablanca was in development one character idea was for Sam to be a girl. Lena Horne’s name was floated for the role, but it was ultimately shot down because it would appear (certainly from the rest of the script) that Rick and Sam were an item. Can you imagine Humphrey Bogart and Lena Horne together? Rick would’ve told Victor Lazlo “You can have Ilsa, I’ve got my own Hershey’s Kiss right here!”

  2. I am a hugeeeeeeeeeee classic movie fan, I still call them B&W movies. I never got into Casablanca, I know it has been rated time after time for being one of the best movies ever made, but for me it just leaves something wanting. Nice to see a fellow classic movie lover out there, they really are the best. Please do more write up on lil classic treasures that you discover, I would love to hear about it.

    • Well what do you like? I love Casablanca but it’s not everyone, one Bogie’s all time best is Maltese Falcon and I’m a huge fan of The Big Sleep, I know all the lines in that movie. But I’m a die hard Hitchcock fan, I live and breath for Hitchcock films.

  3. You know, I’m a girl who likes smart, mysterious and even arrogant jack asses when they can back up that $hit, but somehow I’ve never been into this movie or Bogart for that matter. It might have to do with how weak and desperate the female character is, unlike the gutsy if not annoying actress from ‘Gone with the Wind’.

    • He plays in a lot of Noir films which are good and the women in those are not weak just seriously deceitful pretending to be weak 😉 I’m a fan of classics in general, I don’t need it to meet today’s standards it’s not set in today. So I take it for what it is at that moment and try not to judge it by today’s movies. Surprisingly off screen many of those women were fierce especially in the time of the studio system in Hollywood. But it’s not for everyone.

Leave a Reply

