Star’s Favorite…Places-Mt. Rainier National Park

I know some people hear me talk about how much I love the Pacific Northwest and Seattle in particular and they want to know why. If you aren’t a resident or haven’t visited I should tell you, you should come. Plane tickets are never cheap to come here, surprisingly this is a tourist town all year long even with the funky weather. But if you come here, you’ll figure out why tourist love it so much. It’s got an easy-going and relaxed atmosphere and damn it’s beautiful up here. I’ve taken photos in just random spots that deserve to be on post cards. We are surrounded by mountains the Olympics to the west and the Cascades to the east. And everywhere surrounded by summits, Seattle stands in the shadow on the glorious Mt. Rainier, you can pretty much see it from everywhere that tells how large it is. Mt. Rainier is an active volcano but it’s been awhile since it’s blown but we’re due. Although when you look at it looks so close like it’s only a hop, skip, and a jump away. It’s actually a 2 hour drive from Seattle. I’ve finally got a usable route to get there, I’ve tried a couple but this one is the best. Being that it’s a National Park it’s kept pretty pristine. There’s a fee to get in about $15.00 but that ticket price will allow you entry and exit for a couple of days. I’ve visited Mt. Rainier four times and I love going there during the summer, it’s impossible to drive up during the winter but the summer is nice although there’s still a lot of snow up there. People hike the glacier during the summer and winter and yes people climb that mountain. Some have gotten stuck, when you get stuck in places here the State makes you pay for your rescue. I hate to say this but I think that’s a good thing, people do dumb things when they hike around here like going out on a 5 mile hike with shorts and a little jacket on and no phone, no compass, and no locator and a Dasani sized bottle of water. Anyway, that’s a rant for another day. I want to share with you some of my photos at Rainier. There’s a saying chiseled into a stairway at the as you walk a cemented path up the mountainside and I want to reprint it here. It’s from John Muir, I’m a great admirer of his and this was his observation of the mountain.

…the most luxuriant and extravagantly beautiful of all the alpine gardens I ever beheld in all my mountain-top wanderings. -John Muir, conservationist, 1889

6 thoughts on “Star’s Favorite…Places-Mt. Rainier National Park

  1. I am with you! I love Mt. Ranier. I spent my early years in Seattle and that majestic mountain is still my favorite backdrop for any city.

    • I love this place the best thing is as you go up and down this coast, it just changes and it’s so beautiful from north to the south. It’s just damn beautiful! Thank you for the compliment about my pics, I’ll probably be going out there this summer, it’s a great day trip.

Leave a Reply

