I Don’t Do Resolutions

I know I’ve been in the midst of a series on Thursday’s post about emotional abuse and NPDs but seeing that it’s almost Christmas I was not in the mood to speak about crazy and abusive people. This is a time to celebrate and be light-hearted so I’m sticking with that prescription. I’ll be back to my series come the beginning of the new year and you’ll want to come back and read it. I know I’m killing you guys with suspense about NPDs but believe me it will be revealing and very informative. Okay on to other more happy and joyful subjects.

Well, less than being a joyful subject, a subject for my contemplation has been the coming of the New Year. I’m always happy about a new year coming along even 2012 I know many people can’t wait for 2011 to be over but I can’t say I’m one. I’m not thinking I want to hang on to it but 2011 has been a stellar year for the Berg household. We’ve been infinitely blessed this year and the goal I set for this year ‘to live a peaceful, quiet life’ actually came about. I have been pretty unfettered and unbothered by much of anything. I haven’t taken on other’s problems and I’m no longer trying to make sure everyone is feeling my presence. That means I’m not chasing people down to be with them, if you don’t make an effort to be in my life, I make no effort to be in yours. It has lead to a happy, stress-free life. There’s something nice about not caring if people are upset with you especially if you haven’t done anything to upset them. In my recent blog I’m Still in Limbo, Dammit I explained how I’m still in limbo regarding my career goals a limbo that has been going on for about 2 years. But this year I have a new goal. Now when the New Year comes up I have goals not resolutions, I hate resolutions because it’s a just a list of shit that you’ll do for a month then get tired of it or frustrated and just quit. Goals for the year are different way of thinking and I always have just one goal. This year’s was the live a quiet and peaceful life, that ended up spreading itself to other aspects in my life and resulting in a good year. This year’s goal is have more self-discipline. Yes, I am a person that can lack self-discipline and it’s something I struggle with. But I thought the goal of trying to have daily self-discipline would work to my advantage in a couple of ways, I would get moving on shifting my career into the purpose I know God has for my life; I would start saving more money for retirement and planning more for it; and I would start exercising more and eating better to lose more weight and have my diabetes be in better order. I’ve been metzo, metzo on the weight thing. But I am feeling positive about this goal, I also think it will help in many aspects of my life if I just focus on self-discipline and not this ‘I’m going to lose 10 lbs in a month‘, those kinds of promises are just self-fulfilling disappointment for me. If lose 10 lbs in 3 months or 6 months I will have done what I needed towards my goal of self-discipline. I’m turning 40 years old next year and that’s a milestone that means something to me, I want to go into my 40th year better than ever and being more disciplined will help me with that. I don’t know what it is that you want for your own life but setting one goal is probably the way to do it. But then again, this works for me so do what works for you. I’ve got one more blog this year and I’m on a little hiatus. I hope you have enjoyed reading my blog in 2011 and I’ll see you in 2012 as I traverse the weird and wonderful world.

3 thoughts on “I Don’t Do Resolutions

  1. I feel the same about resolutions. This past year, I struggled to just stay afloat but during that time I also spent alot of time examining who and what I wanted to be when I started over. I have a problem not jumping ahead 20 years since I can plan the mess out of every detail but, I knew that I just wanted to stay afloat and look around me. Didn’t drown and I did see. This year is all about self discipline and rebuilding. I don’t want the laundry list either. That one description will cover it all. Now the plan is to work on the plan, lol!

  2. Happy New Year!!!! The last couple of years (post divorce) have gotten better and better. Over the past few years I’ve had minimal contact with or completely cut off damaged friends and family members b/c I realized that they were stuck in their misery and wanted everyone else to be miserable too. These changes have had a very positive impact on my life and 2011 has been a great year filled with lots of love, good times and good memories. 2012 has a lot of great things in store for me….graduating, relocating, etc. I plan to continue living a fabulous and more glamourous life by focusing more on the love and friendship around me.

    • I loved how my yearly goal worked out so that’s why I decided to keep it. This has been the most peaceful and joyful year I’ve had in such a long time. That’s not just b/c I married the man of my dreams, it’s just the way I’m living my life. I say go for and do whatever it is you need to make your life as fabulous as possible. It helps you and everyone around you that loves and cares about you.

Leave a Reply

