There Is So Much To Love About Portland

I’m not doing a vlog today, I tried something new with my hair and that did not work out at all. So it’s just going to be written, we’re still prepping for baby-making time this is the longest two months of my life. But I’m getting so excited, a lot of changes are happening in our life. One may be, where we live.

Matt and I went on a overnight trip to Portland, Oregon this Saturday. We were supposed to be going to the Oregon Brew Fest but we got there and it was like cats in a bag. So since we are surprisingly flexible people as Taurus we walked through downtown about 10 to 12 blocks up to one of our favorite brewery bars, Ringler’s which is owned by McMenamin’s. It was the best overnight trip ever. We booked a less expensive hotel on the far north side of town, no use in paying through the nose for a overnight trip but I’d highly recommend that Days Inn, it was nice, quiet, clean absolutely perfect. On Sunday we went to Voodoo Doughnuts and gorged ourselves on sugar donuts & Starbucks for breakfast, drove up to this incredible park called Washington Park, at the park we visited the Portland Rose Garden (Portland is known as the Rose City), and then headed over to a cool spot called Podnah’s and had a tasty BBQ lunch. We left the city and headed back to Seattle, but I didn’t want to go.

Every single time I visit Portland I want to move there. I love the city. Now I love Seattle but everything in Portland just seems a tad bit better. The weather is a little better, the neighborhoods seem cooler, the housing prices are a little lower, they got better beer, it seems friendlier and more laid back. Seattle when I first moved here 20 years ago was a lot like modern Portland but it’s grown, it’s changed, people are less friendly, it’s more hustle and bustle. Now Seattle certainly isn’t a L.A., Chicago or Houston but its getting there. I long for the days when it was just less drama. But when I visit Portland I feel that way. I’m not going to lie the Oregon coast leaves the Washington coast in the dust. Oregon is beautiful country. I still love Seattle and Washington but I find as I visit Portland and Oregon I’m just loving it even more. I really think it would be a good place to raise a child. While visiting the park and Rose Garden this weekend it’s just becoming more apparent. My husband has the ability to move just about anywhere, he’s an engineer and while I’m a SAHM it will be easy for me and even if I go back to work at some point, I’ll be working from home and what I do can be done anywhere in the world. So we’re cool about careers when it comes to moving but I still have some investigating, if I’m going to have my family in a place it has to be the best place for us. That requires more research than a day at the park.

There are a lot of things that I must be aware of about Oregon and Portland because it’s not a utopia. Oregon has a state income tax but no sales tax, it is also one of the poorest states in the United States but I think some of that is because it is a progressive state which in fact, I rather like about Oregon. They’re progressive but you wouldn’t know it because unlike its West coast sisters, California that’s just does stuff to piss people off and Washington which wants to be as cool as California and can’t shut up talking about it. Oregon just is cool and no one need know, they do everything on the DL. Portland is a beautiful but less developed city than Seattle and it has a huge issue of homelessness particularly homeless teenagers many who are ex drug addicts. So as with anything there is the good and bad that go with this move. My personal thought is that the good will outweigh the bad but I still have to do my due diligence.

Now we aren’t moving anytime soon which will probably come as a relief to our parents. We might not move at all but as usual every time I visit that city whether it be Summer, Winter, Spring or Fall I just feel this overwhelming need to move there. Who knows I might be blogging from Portlandia soon and we’ll be Portlanders. Here are some awesome photos from our trip.

20120730-153821.jpg

20120730-153914.jpg

20120730-153943.jpg

20120730-154012.jpg

20120730-155154.jpg

20120730-155228.jpg

20120730-155255.jpg

20120730-155316.jpg

20120730-155343.jpg

20120730-155418.jpg

20120730-155442.jpg

20120730-155502.jpg

4 thoughts on “There Is So Much To Love About Portland

  1. I have always wanted to visit Oregon because it seems like an absolutely beautiful state. I didnt know about the homelessness etc. I visit Portland Maine almost every Summer but I would really love to see what the west coast has to offer. Have you been to the east coast?

    • Well it’s just a part of city living. But I still love Portland. Oregon is gorgeous, what a beautiful state. I’ve only been to NYC & Florida very different spots on the east coast.

Leave a Reply

