Making New Friends

I’m not an unfriendly person but I’m also not the easiest person to make friends with, so when I make a friend and it’s an easy comfortable friendship that is happening I go with it. I can be really friendly but that is usually when I feel I can trust you and I’m comfortable with you. This weekend I’ve found I am making a new friend with someone I met online on this blog. Glamdoll is a regular reader and commenter on this blog. She has moved up here to the wild and fabulous Pacific Northwest from the Midwest. She did it for the best reason to make a move because she liked this city and wanted to live here. She can tell more of her own story if she’d like but nothing is better than moving to an awesome place and all your awesomeness following suit. That’s exactly what she is doing.

I caught up with her this weekend to meet and hang out. I took her around the city to visit some of the great neighborhoods and introduced her to Manny’s Pale Ale, one of my favorite beers. It’s been great getting to know her, we each share the same philosophy about black women opening up their options and the okey doke of the black community on black women. She’s been fun to get to know and I’m thinking we have a good friendship forming. I’ve never been a believer that you could possibly have a deep or meaningful friendship with people you meet over the Internet. In some ways it seems so impersonal to me but what I’ve found is if you’re genuine, you can draw genuine people for friendship even if you don’t live in the same town. Now that we do live in the same city, we can try to grow a friendship. So here’s to making friends on the Internet and here’s to my new friend, Glamdoll. We’re about to have lots of fun exploring the Pacific Northwest and becoming friends.

20120819-161516.jpg

13 thoughts on “Making New Friends

  1. Eugenia is so cool and down to earth. She “says it like she means it” just like she does on the blogs. And she’s funny too. And for any of you ladies that are thinking of moving or visiting the PNW she knows all of the cool fun spots. There’s sooooo much to do here. And the non black men are everywhere. I’ve only been here a week and I’ve already mastered the art of flirting;-)

    • Well, I’ve said it before, the person you see on that screen is me. I like this person so she’s going no where. I must say Glam, you’re very cool yourself. It’s fun getting to know you. Up until you find the man of your dreams or dating like a crazy person, which I figure is coming up soon. We’ll be hitting the road, there’s a couple of more weeks till summer is over so still time to have lots of fun.

    • I most definitely will. That pic on the post is us in front of Salty’s restaurant in West Seattle. Just enjoying a drink chatting. We really have been having a good time. I love showing folks this city.

Leave a Reply

